Have you ever felt the odds were against you? Not from a victim perspective, but a realistic perspective. We are bombarded with statistics on a daily basis. For example, most African American males are either told, or shown that there is a strong chance they will be arrested in their lifetime. As an African American female, I knew at a young age there was a lower marriage rate between African Americans, and that a large amount of African American homes were headed by single mothers. Honestly, growing up, I was always intrigued when I met someone who had parents that were still together. It was kind of like looking at a rare species.

What do you do when you have a dream, but statistically speaking, there is a strong chance you may not accomplish that dream. Do you give up? Do you go extra hard? Do you become ambivalent?

I guess that’s where faith comes in. After all, faith is the substance of things hoped for, but yet unseen. I think of people who have had a vision or dream in their heart for a long time, but have not seen it come to pass. By a long time, I do not mean a mere six months, one year, or even five years. I’m talking ten or more. How do they keep the faith when it feels that Goliath is conquering them? How do you keep the faith when you are trying to do the right thing, but adversity and failure takes hold, and won’t let go?

In my journey, I’ve learned faith is something that needs to be renewed on a regular basis. At a minimum, daily. Sometimes, it has to be renewed multiple times throughout the day. Whenever I look at my Goliath’s, I remind myself of all the Goliath’s I’ve conquered throughout life. As long as there is breath in my body, I know there’s a chance for all my dreams to come true.

-Trin

